top of page

Different Ways to Journal

Okay, so, these past few years I've been trying to find a cool way to express myself that is not only fun, but effective and easy to keep up with. I've tried pretty much everything you've ever seen or heard of. Here are some of them that you can try.

1. Scrapbooking

This was one of my first journalling types I tried. I just included some of my favourite pictures from any important day, or week/month of my life and added a few words and stickers before throwing it together on a cute piece of paper and it's beautiful as well as memorable. The only thing with this one is that if you want to pour your heart out and spill out all of your feelings into a pile of word vomit then maybe this one isn't for you. I still use this but I also have other journals that I write in so that I can draw myself up on a page and try to figure out what all my words and emotions mean.

2. Typical Diary

Okay, okay, before you move on from this one I'd just like to say that you don't need to be a Brigit Jones, or Nikki Maxwell when you write a diary. Maybe you only write in it on some days. Do what you want, it's all up to you. I especially like to look back on these to see how I felt whilst my family and I were moving to another country, and whilst on a plane travelling somewhere.

3. Morning Pages

This one is just a stream of consciousness writing in a nutshell. Just put your pen on the paper and write your heart out. It doesn't have to make sense or be in any order. It can be a total mess, but you'll feel so much better afterwards. It's like the old saying; a problem shared is a problem halved, except a notebook can't really help you..... (By the way, this can be at any time of the day, but morning pages just sounds best - I mean who wants 2:03pm pages? Not me anyway.)

4. Planner

A planner is one is just to organise yourself and list everything else to help get you head in the right direction. I could NOT live without my planner, it is my literal LIFE. This one is also really fun to look back on during the May/June time because that was when I did all my planning for the letters I wrote to each of my english classmates and the notebook I gave to my teacher that I included all sorts of stuff like recipes, Aussie slang, fun facts a map, a story, letter, poem and much more.

5. Bullet Journalling

This one I am yet to try, but am totally taken with. It seems really flexible and customisable and I cannot wait to start it next spring. Basically you have monthly, yearly and weekly spreads and you can add other random luggage you're carrying around in as you go that'll help you do whatever and get your thoughts down.

And those are my five different journalling types. I hope you like them and choose one. See you next week! Bye!

QOTD: You must teach you self worth to stand upon it's own feet, instead of propped up on the views of every person that you meet. -e.h


You Might Also Like:
bottom of page