top of page

jan + feb reading wrap up

I AM SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO SORRY! This blog has slipped my mind for... a long time, but I promise I'll be right back on it, starting now.

I started off this year with a real excitement to read, and I'm just flowing with it. Here are the books I've read so far this year, and my opinions.

1. Divergent by Veronica Roth

I have actually read this one twice this year already. It was hard-hitting and personal. It captivated me and pulled at my emotions from the word go.

The storyline was interesting, unpredictable, yet still easy to follow and keep up with. I'm currently reading the sequel Insurgent and am so excited to see what happens next in Tris' story. The characters are interesting, and you feel like they're real people.

You follow Tris as she makes a life-changing decision and shocks everyone. She also has a deadly secret that she doesn't fully understand herself, and as her society threatens to fall apart as factions turn on eachother, Tris goes head first into situations that sometimes have devastating consequences.

I ALSO GOT A WATER STAIN ON THIS BOOK AND I'M VERY MAD ABOUT IT!

9/10- WOULD RECOMMEND!

2.Voyage of the Dawn Treader from the Chronicles of Narnia by C.S Lewis

I started reading this series last year, and although it's not my favourite it's definetly worth reading. It is a fantasy series and was written over fifty years ago, however it's something that still managed to grasp my attention, although sometimes I found it to drag on a little.

You follow Lucy, her brother and cousin, Prince Caspian and many others as they explore the sea looking for Caspian's long lost relatives on the Lone Islands.

7.5/10- WOULD RECOMMEND

3. The Silver Chair from the Chronicles of Narnia by C.S Lewis

This one is my favourite in the series.

It's more unpredictable and exciting than the others are and I really liked it.

When Jane and Eustance are pulled into Aslan's Country they are put under firm instructions to save the missing Prince Rilian who is somewhere in Naria, Archenland and beyond. They go on an exhausting but rewarding adventure with Puddleglum and are exposed to darker magic and are nearly dinner for some giants.

8/10- WOULD RECOMMEND

4. The Last Batttle from the Chronicles of Narnia by C.S Lewis

I HAD SOOO MUCH ANXIETY AT THE END OF THIS BOOK! If you've read it you know what I mean, but I loved Narnia, even if it wasn't my fave and it nearly.... I'll leave the end of that sentence for you to find out.

It was a very stressful book to read because every solution failed and I had to read it all at once or I wouldn't be satisfied.

You follow the Friends of Narnia and Prince Tirian as they try to stop an ape and some bad-meaning Calormenes. Along the way some scary Gods come out and it's all very shocking. I love it.

9/10- WOULD RECOMMEND

5. The Penultimate Peril from A Series of Unfortunate Events by Lemony Snicket

FIRST OF ALL.....

I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE Lemony Snicket's writing style. It is humourus and dry, and easy to follow.

I also love the Viole,t Klaus and Sunny and so may things are revealed and IT IS MY CHILD. It is sad, but satisfying at the same time.

Violet, Klaus and Sunny still have many secrets to uncover, although they are told they are safe with one twin, but not the other twin, althought they don't know the difference. They undergo some difficult tasks and have some heartache befallen on them.

10/10 - WOULD RECOMMEND

6. The End from A Series of Unfrtunate Events by Lemony Snicket

The last book..... let's just take a minute to appreciate this masterpeice.

I'm not even going to bother witha synopsis, because I just CANNOT EXPLAIN IT! I am shocked and a little heartbroken by the events in this book and am not sure if I will survive because I still have so many questions.

10/10- WOULD RECOMMEND

7. Nevermoor from The Trials of Morrigan Crow by Jessica Townsend

The characters. Oh, the characters. Fenestra is my spirit animal. Jupiter is just amazing, Hawthorn is my annoying little brother, Morrigan is literally me and THERE ARE SO MANY MORE I NEED TO MENTION.

Morrogan Crow is a 'cursed child', and is destined to die on Eventide, but a weird and wonderful oppurtunity comes to let her live somewhere better than the Republic but he has to go under some intense testing first....

1590000000000000/10- READ IT NOW

8. Cream Buns and Crime by Robin Stevens

This is a book from one of my favourite series Murder Most Unladylike. It is a collection of mini stories, letters, some lessons from Daisy, Hazel, Alexander and George, as well as parts from the authors veiw.

Not my favourite in the series, but worth it if you already like the series.

7.5/10- WOULD RECOMMEND

9. Out of my Mind by Sharon M. Draper

THE EMOTIONS THAT RUN THROUGH ME WHEN I THINK OF THIS BOOK!!!!!!!

Melody has cerebal-pulsy and is finally given the chance to go into a proper classroom with "normal" kids.... but will they really like some one who drools? Some one who can't control their body? But maybe they'll like her more if she can talk, for real, without a stupid talking board, maybe they'll like her more then...

10/10- WOULD RECOMMEND

10. The War that Saved my Life by Kimberly Brubaker Bradley

Can I just give a shout out to the school librarian, Sheroden, for picking out this book and many others on this list.

World War ii has begun, but only Ada's brother is evacuting London. Ada has a bad foot and has never been allowed to leave the apartment because her abusive mother is ashamed. But Ada will sneak out, she will not be bombed. So when she and her brother do leave, they are forced onto a caregiver who doen't want them, however through Ada's confusion and tears they grow close... but will it be enough to keep them away from their mother?

10/10- WOULD RECOMMEND

11. Playing Beatie Bow by Ruth Park

This is a VERY old book. It is also very worth reading though.

Abigail's father left. Her mother and her fought and fought until they created a somewhat close rleationship. Her mother whips out some news last minute, and all of a sudden Abigail is taken into the last centuary and can't get home. She is told she is "the stranger" and as she stays with a well-meaning family, Abigail learns some valuable lessons and turns herself around from the emotionless girl she was before. But is that enough to get her home? Does she even want to go home anymore?

12. Because of Mr Terupt by Rob Buyea

Oh Mr Terupt. It was a great book. it had me hooked on straight away.

You follow the veiws of five students in a new teacher, Mr Terupt's, class. They all have their secrets and Mr Terupt helps them with, well, everything. He is great, but then an accident occurs and the class feels divided and wrong. It was an accident they remind themselves... but just because it was an accident doesn't mean there are no consequences.

See you next week! I hope you enjoyed and I promise to post more! See you next week!

-Emily xo


You Might Also Like:
bottom of page