top of page

10 Easy and Healthy Snacks

QOTD: One day your life will flash before your eyes. Make sure it's worth watching. - Gerard Way

Hey! It's Emily here and I'd just like to say; PINCH AND A PUNCH FOR THE FIRST DAY OF THE MONTH NO RETURNS HA HA!

If you're not from Australia though then save that for tomorrow or pretend it happened yesterday....

First off I'd like to thank everyone who subscribed - I really appreciate it!

I personally am not much of a snacker; I eat breakfast and dinner and on school days I also eat lunch and recess. However, there are those days where food is bae and every five minutes you drag yourself away from you screen and emerge out of your room into the kitchen looking for food, so here are 11 healthy snacks for those days.....and every other day if you're a snacker.

NOTE: All of the nut butters used can be replaced with sunflower seed butter if you are allergic or can't bring it into school with you.

1. Nutty Apples

This is one of my favourite snacks in the ENTIRE WORLD!

You'll need any nut butter of your choice, a pink lady or any other red apple and any nuts or seeds of your choosing.

First cut your apple any way you like and open up your nut butter (I'm using almond). Get enough nut butter on your knife to spread over one slice and repeat until the top of each slice is coated as evenly as possible in nut butter.

Add your nuts, I used walnuts and peanuts - the peanuts were lightly salted. You could also sprinkle over any seeds such as chia seeds, pumpkin seeds or flax seeds.

DEVOUR...... then make more because it was just TOO GOOD!

2. Simple Banana Bread

This one is possibly the easiest snack in the universe.

First grab a ripe banana - the riper the easier to eat - and cut it into slices.

Once you've done that sprinkle some cinnamon on top, I use an obnoxious amount because I love cinnamon, and you're done!

3. Peanut Butter PopcornI

I know this one doesn't sound too healthy but it's about as healthy as popcorn gets.

First pop your kernels, you want them to be the ones that are sold as just plain kernels. Put half a cup in a microwave safe container for 2-3 minutes.

Take it out once it finishes popping and leave it while you mix some natural peanut butter or any other nut butter and mix it with some coconut oil. You want about a quarter of a cup. Melt that in the microwave until the coconut oil melts. It should be of a similar consistency to oil. Pour that over your popcorn and shake it around. You can also add a pinch of salt if you wish.

(It makes a little bit more than this - my family and I ate some before I took this photo)

This recipe was inspired by 'Keep Up with Liv' on YouTube. Go check her out, she's really good!

4. Smoothies

Smoothies are always quick and easy snacks to make so here are two of my favourites:

I don't have a name for this one

Blend:

-1 cup of almond, or any other plant-based milk;

-1/2 frozen banana;

-1/4tbsp of cinnamon

-2tbsp almond or any other nut/seed butter

-a few spinach leaves (optional)

I know it isn't the prettiest colour, but it tastes really nice.

Orange you Great

- 1cup of orange juice (fresh or homemade if you like)

- 1/2 frozen banana

- more ice (optional)

- 1/2 cup of greek yoghurt (optional)

For this one you might be able to make it into a smoothie bowl and add different, tropical fruits on top.

5. Choc Raspberries

Okay, I lied this is the easiest recipe in the universe!

Grab some raspberries and dark chocolate chips.

Take 1-2 choc chips and push them into the little hole on top of the raspberries- you know what I mean.

This recipe is also inspired by Keep Up with Liv.

6. Frozen Fruit

These do take a while to make so I wouldn't make these if you're looking to eat immediately.

Slice up a banana or de-stem some strawberries and dip them halfway into some greek yoghurt or melted dark chocolate and freeze them until the chocolate and yoghurt is frozen solid.

7. Choc Banana

All you need to do for this one is mash up a banana and add 1/2 tsp of raw cocao powder, you can also add some natural nut butter if you'd like and put it in the microwave or oven until it's gooey and warm. YUM!

.... I know it looks like poo, but it looks less like it when you do it right - it probably only needs 15-20seconds in the microwave until it's gooey. Make sure with the measurements you don't follow an exact recipe - just wing it and eyeball the measurements until it looks right to you.

8. Healthy Cookies

For this delicious recipe you'll need:

1 cup almond butter

1 egg

1/8 cup maple syrup

1/8 tsp baking soda

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 scoop of protein powder or almond meal

1/4 cup dairy free dark chocolate chips

Add everything except the protein powder/almond meal and choc chips, mix, then add protein powder/almond meal and choc chips then leave the mixture till chill for half an hour. DO NOT FORGET THIS STEP! Once they have chilled scoop them onto a greased baking tray and bake for 10mins at 250 degrees Celsius.

I made about six largish cookies so doubling the recipe couldn't hurt.

My whole family liked them, even my eldest brother who refuses to have anything to do with health, although my other brother thought that they were a little bit to 'almond-ie' for his liking.

I did burn mine a little bit so make sure to keep a close eye on them.

But are my life. If only I could I would live off of them.....

This recipe was also inspired by 'Keep Up With Liv' - as you can see, I'm OBSESSED!

9. Nice-Cream

All you need for this is 2 frozen bananas per serving, 1 tbsp of tinned coconut milk and your flavouring e.g Lemon juice, peppermint extract, peanut butter, cocao powder ect

Put in your bananas and coconut milk then your flavouring/s, I made peanut butter chocolate so I added 1 & 1/2tbsp of peanut butter and 1 &1/2 tbsp of cocao powder - feel free to experiment with measurements and flavours.

You'll want to add a lot of flavouring to disguise the banana a bit more or substitute the banana with avocado, zucchini or anything else of that nature.

If you want you can put the 'Nice-cream' in a container and freeze it until it's at a more preferable consistency.

10. Cheesy Almonds

All you need is some almonds and nutritional yeast (also known as savoury yeast flakes) along with some olive oil or 1 egg (I used olive oil).

If you'd like you can roast your almonds afterwards, that's what I did. Dip your almonds in your egg or olive oil then place them in the yeast until they're evenly coated.

They are cheesy due to the nutritional yeast and are a lovely and satisfying savoury snack.

.....and there are 10 healthy snacks! I hope you enjoyed reading this and if you make any I hope you like them!

My favourite was definitely the Nutty Apples or Cookies:)

Don't forget to subscribe, like and share!

I'll post again next Sunday xx Type to you then ;) - I know, I'm hilarious.


You Might Also Like:
bottom of page